My Jamaican Family – blog


Maud Dey Smedmore, Kingston, Jamaica, c.1925
My Jamaica Family

I came across My Jamaican Family a beautifully written and illustrated blog, by Jamaican-Canadian librarian Dorothy Kew, exploring the history of her family in Jamaica. The blog includes fascinating tales of growing up in New Kingston and train trips into the country.

This post about using the LDS Family History Centre microfilm ( the Hyde Park Family History Centre in South Kensington would have the same records) and online records of the Jamaican Gleaner Newspaper Archive are particullay useful especially for those interested in research. Well worth a visit.

By Kelly F.

More links:
My Jamaican Family
Hyde Park Family History Centre
Jamaican Gleaner Newspaper Archive

2 responses to “My Jamaican Family – blog

  1. My Jamaican grandfather a man that I can be proud of for his contribution to Jamaica in the past. However he has been removed from Jamaican history for no good reason, in the new Jamaica of today. Take a look at this:
    Google-User Pages Info on Jamaican Police Inspector Herbert T. Thomas.
    Jamaica should be proud of it’s history, if we are “Out of Many One” are we, or not. This man wrote three books on Jamaica, and I his grandson have added one more making it a total of four books from one family.

  2. Hello:

    Thanks for mentioning my blog, My Jamaican Family. Just one small correction. My mother’s full name was Maud Dey Smedmore, not De.

    Dorothy

Leave a Reply

